In a bid to enhance user privacy, WhatsApp has finally introduced a new messaging feature called the “View Once” feature to users when sending Media Files.
In this case, if a sender marks any media attachment such as photo, video e.t.c as a view once file, the file will disappear once the recipient opens it without been saved to the phone.
As I said earlier the main aim of this rollout is to enhance user control over their privacy.
Let’s briefly take a look at some key characteristics of the new “View Once” feature.
How does the WhatsApp”View Once” Feature Work?
1. Viewed images, videos or attachments can only be viewed once by the recipient.
2. Viewed attachment won’t be saved to the recipient gallery and as such can’t be accessed twice except you resend.
3. You can’t be able to forward, star, or save media’s been sent via the view once feature.
4. You’ll be notified when a user opens the sent attachment.
5. If the recipient doesn’t open the chat 14days after the message has been sent then it will automatically disappear from the chat.
However, you will be able to restore the ‘View once media’ from backup if the message remains unread at the time of backup. If the photo or video has already been opened, the media will not be included in the backup and can’t be restored.
How to Send Media as “View Once” Message
Now, this is quite easy,
- Open WhatsApp and start a chat with a friend,
- Click on the Attachment icon> select Gallery or hit the camera icon to select an image or video
- Now, select any preferred image or video you’d like to send to the recipient.
- Next, you’ll see a clock-like icon with 1 written in the middle, click on it to turn it green (Accept any prompt if it’s your first time using the feature) to enable the View once feature.
- Once successful, you should receive a “Photo set to View Once.” Prompt and you can now finally send and see the magic.
The receiver will also be prompted that the image or audio is a view once attachment and can’t be seen twice.
Demerits of the Whatsapp “View Once” Feature
It doesn’t have any demerit other than the viewer can decide to either take a screenshot or video record of the sent attachment before it disappears.
The more reason why it’s advisable to use the feature with those we can trust and not just anyone.
Have you started using the feature? What do you think about it?